Jump to content


- - - - -

Task manager is gone


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#21 guitar_bar

guitar_bar

    :huh:

  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,886 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Original Name: guitar_bar

Posted 11 August 2006 - 04:13 PM

make discs of all the stuff you want, and reinstall


#22 jenniferdurst

jenniferdurst

    The Entire Nation of Poland, herself.

  • Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,072 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Pissfart, Iowa
  • Donator:Yes, Once
  • Original Name: jenniferdurst

Posted 12 August 2006 - 05:44 PM

QUOTE (gusdotcom @ Aug 10 2006, 05:59 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (nealmac @ Aug 10 2006, 11:31 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I'm a bit iffy about reinstalling windows. Will I lose all my other programs and files?

There supose to be a repair instaletion thingie you can do that is suposed to keep all the files but I have never tried it so I don't know if it works.
If doing a full re-instalation then yes everything will be lost so you will have to copy all teh files to another location and make sure you ca get hold of all the programs you need.

blink.gif

Windows has it's own backup program (I don't remember what it is though). The file would probably have to be burned to a dvd or put on a removeable harddrive, though. I don't think it would fit to one CD. Anyway, you could do that or you could download a program like Partition Magic and save all the programs you want to keep on your second partition. If you end up wiping your computer completely, I would remove whatever partitions your computer already has and make new ones. Then install windows to one partition and all your programs to the second. It makes reformatting SO much easier.

Heh, I had a similar problem to yours a few years back though. My basic programs just started disappearing from my computer. Like Wordpad, calculator, etc etc etc. Not sure about task manager though, I gave up and reformatted before I dinked around too much.

Sweet-ass! 351.5 Major-Points�, 1 Loki Ducat�, 1 Herr Mark, 5 Jackson Quints~
"you, my dear, are fabulous" -Trevor James Hawes
"Note to self. Hide penis." -Gus


#23 gusdotcom

gusdotcom

    I'm a pyrotechnician, if you see me running, try to keep up

  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 39,801 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The land of hot blonde women A.K.A Sweden...
  • Original Name: gusdotcom

Posted 12 August 2006 - 05:45 PM

QUOTE (jenniferdurst @ Aug 13 2006, 03:44 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (gusdotcom @ Aug 10 2006, 05:59 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>

QUOTE (nealmac @ Aug 10 2006, 11:31 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I'm a bit iffy about reinstalling windows. Will I lose all my other programs and files?

There supose to be a repair instaletion thingie you can do that is suposed to keep all the files but I have never tried it so I don't know if it works.
If doing a full re-instalation then yes everything will be lost so you will have to copy all teh files to another location and make sure you ca get hold of all the programs you need.

blink.gif

Windows has it's own backup program (I don't remember what it is though). The file would probably have to be burned to a dvd or put on a removeable harddrive, though. I don't think it would fit to one CD. Anyway, you could do that or you could download a program like Partition Magic and save all the programs you want to keep on your second partition. If you end up wiping your computer completely, I would remove whatever partitions your computer already has and make new ones. Then install windows to one partition and all your programs to the second. It makes reformatting SO much easier.

Heh, I had a similar problem to yours a few years back though. My basic programs just started disappearing from my computer. Like Wordpad, calculator, etc etc etc. Not sure about task manager though, I gave up and reformatted before I dinked around too much.

I already suggested that and it's faster and easier with an external HD tongue.gif

blink.gif

GTUer of the week 7th-13th of February 2005
Owner of 227.5 Major-Points and 45 Igorski Points

#24 jenniferdurst

jenniferdurst

    The Entire Nation of Poland, herself.

  • Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,072 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Pissfart, Iowa
  • Donator:Yes, Once
  • Original Name: jenniferdurst

Posted 13 August 2006 - 11:46 PM

Shush Gus. I don't pay attention. *sigh*

Sweet-ass! 351.5 Major-Points�, 1 Loki Ducat�, 1 Herr Mark, 5 Jackson Quints~
"you, my dear, are fabulous" -Trevor James Hawes
"Note to self. Hide penis." -Gus


#25 Nealio

Nealio

    Stuff

  • Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dundalk, Ireland
  • Donator:Yes, Once
  • Original Name: nealmac

Posted 14 August 2006 - 01:24 AM

QUOTE (kkatarn327 @ Aug 11 2006, 11:41 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Well, are you logged in as normal? I mean, can you use your computer normally (besides task manager)?

Also, since you're at work, maybe you don't have an admin account on that computer, so nothing is supposed to happen when you do press Cntrl+Alt+Del. Has it ever worked before on the same account?

Also, try getting your supervisor or whatever to log in on the same machine but as an admin account. Then try Cntrl+Alt+Del on there, and see if it works.

Yes I can use it normally for all other aspects. Also, it's my PC at home that's having this problem.

#26 guitarguy2001

guitarguy2001
  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,129 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Original Name: kkatarn327

Posted 14 August 2006 - 08:22 AM

QUOTE (nealmac @ Aug 14 2006, 02:24 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
QUOTE (kkatarn327 @ Aug 11 2006, 11:41 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Well, are you logged in as normal? I mean, can you use your computer normally (besides task manager)?

Also, since you're at work, maybe you don't have an admin account on that computer, so nothing is supposed to happen when you do press Cntrl+Alt+Del. Has it ever worked before on the same account?

Also, try getting your supervisor or whatever to log in on the same machine but as an admin account. Then try Cntrl+Alt+Del on there, and see if it works.

Yes I can use it normally for all other aspects. Also, it's my PC at home that's having this problem.


Oh.... ph34r.gif

Well, it really could just be something so simple as a program you installed conflicting with the standard keyboard shortcuts. So it's not that Task Manager is gone, but pressing Cntrl+Alt+Del won't get you there. Try to go back and reset that keyboard shortcut. Also, there should be another way to access Task Manager... let me do a bit of research and get back to you.

#27 Nealio

Nealio

    Stuff

  • Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dundalk, Ireland
  • Donator:Yes, Once
  • Original Name: nealmac

Posted 14 August 2006 - 08:27 AM

Well there is Start:Run: type taskmgr.exe. That won't work either.

#28 guitarguy2001

guitarguy2001
  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,129 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Original Name: kkatarn327

Posted 14 August 2006 - 08:47 AM

Alright, go to C:\WINDOWS\system32 (be sure to have it set so it lets you see hidden and system files, idk if that'll be a problem but just in case).

Is there an actual file there called 'taskmgr.exe'? The icon for it is a little computer monitor with a squiggly green line on the screen, kinda like a hear rate monitor.

If there is, open it. See what happens.

If it's not there or nothing happens when you click it, add me to your MSN: kkatarn327@hotmail.com

#29 Nealio

Nealio

    Stuff

  • Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dundalk, Ireland
  • Donator:Yes, Once
  • Original Name: nealmac

Posted 15 August 2006 - 01:07 AM

In work at the minute. I'll check when I get home.

#30 Yahmez

Yahmez

    James

  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,188 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Original Name: Yahmez

Posted 15 August 2006 - 01:38 AM

Aha......ahaha......ahahahaha.....'Dique, you won't believe it, but I just stumbled across a solution by accident - all you have to do is double click at the top of the task manager window and the tabs/everything else comes back to life! Ridiculous.


Although, this is no solution for Neal's problem. How's the computer running aside from having no task manager? It may be a sign of some new virus/some conflicting program/some other problem if your computer's running worse than normal.
IPB Image
I have 10 Major-Points and 1 Tzara Point


#31 Yahmez

Yahmez

    James

  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,188 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Original Name: Yahmez

Posted 15 August 2006 - 01:45 AM

Also, have a look here:

http://support.micro...e...3f922c4&p=1

and see if any of that helps you. If you startup in Safe Mode (press F8 as computer launches), run a virus scan and nothing still comes up, try doing that reg reset thing that is mentioned towards the bottom.
IPB Image
I have 10 Major-Points and 1 Tzara Point


#32 Nealio

Nealio

    Stuff

  • Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dundalk, Ireland
  • Donator:Yes, Once
  • Original Name: nealmac

Posted 15 August 2006 - 02:04 AM

QUOTE (Yahmez @ Aug 15 2006, 10:38 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Aha......ahaha......ahahahaha.....'Dique, you won't believe it, but I just stumbled across a solution by accident - all you have to do is double click at the top of the task manager window and the tabs/everything else comes back to life! Ridiculous.


Although, this is no solution for Neal's problem. How's the computer running aside from having no task manager? It may be a sign of some new virus/some conflicting program/some other problem if your computer's running worse than normal.

It seems to be running fine otherwise. A bit slow at times, but I doubt that's anything to do with a virus, as it was never connected to the internet. Anyway, it was always a bit slow.

QUOTE (Yahmez @ Aug 15 2006, 10:45 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Also, have a look here:

http://support.micro...e...3f922c4&p=1

and see if any of that helps you. If you startup in Safe Mode (press F8 as computer launches), run a virus scan and nothing still comes up, try doing that reg reset thing that is mentioned towards the bottom.

Thanks James. I'll check that out.

#33 Nealio

Nealio

    Stuff

  • Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dundalk, Ireland
  • Donator:Yes, Once
  • Original Name: nealmac

Posted 15 August 2006 - 02:20 AM



That's all I got huh.gif

#34 guitarguy2001

guitarguy2001
  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,129 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Original Name: kkatarn327

Posted 15 August 2006 - 09:47 AM

Did you check what I said? That really holds the key to the problem. And also like I said, if it's still not working, add me to your MSN. I have something for you.

#35 Yahmez

Yahmez

    James

  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,188 posts
  • Location:Melbourne
  • Original Name: Yahmez

Posted 15 August 2006 - 06:58 PM

It had better be porn...
IPB Image
I have 10 Major-Points and 1 Tzara Point


#36 Nealio

Nealio

    Stuff

  • Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dundalk, Ireland
  • Donator:Yes, Once
  • Original Name: nealmac

Posted 16 August 2006 - 01:14 AM

QUOTE (kkatarn327 @ Aug 15 2006, 06:47 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Did you check what I said? That really holds the key to the problem. And also like I said, if it's still not working, add me to your MSN. I have something for you.

Well I tried it last night, and I got error message saying that "another program is already using that application" or words to that effect. I'll add you to my MSN now..........

#37 Nealio

Nealio

    Stuff

  • Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 35,502 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dundalk, Ireland
  • Donator:Yes, Once
  • Original Name: nealmac

Posted 18 August 2006 - 01:16 AM

QUOTE (kkatarn327 @ Aug 15 2006, 06:47 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Did you check what I said? That really holds the key to the problem. And also like I said, if it's still not working, add me to your MSN. I have something for you.

Thanks for that mate. When I double click it, the task manager window opens up and all looks normal. The only thing is now, how do I configure it so that the ALT+CTRL+DELETE will activate it? I can't drag the Icon to the system32 folder, because it won't let me replace the old (damaged?) one as it says it's in use and can't be replaced. Or maybe replacing it is a idea? Maybe someone can help out.

Anyway thanks again. I'm a lot better off than I was.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Please consider donating to GuitarZone.com.
With more and more people using ad blocking add-ons for browsers, ad revenue has plummeted.
If you can spare even US$5 it would mean a lot to help pay for GZ's monthly server bill.
Thank you to all. Cheers! --Rob



Method #1: PayPal



Click 'Donate' above
to donate with any
major credit card or
existing PayPal funds.


E-mail on record with PayPal
[ ]



Method #2: Bitcoin


Option A )  Scan Bitcoin QR Code


Scan above box with mobile phone, or click...



Option B )  Copy and Paste Bitcoin Address

  13NA7exoZVPGBAxnKXcQAz35JQ5PvnhYDE  


Copy above address and paste into Bitcoin app...



Learn more about Bitcoin...