- - - - -

BanjitarBanjitar Tuning

6 replies to this topic

#1 buckg66

buckg66
  • 2 posts
  • Original Name: buckg66

Posted 29 April 2007 - 07:12 AM

I recently started playing a Banjitar as our Banjo player quit the band and it was decided that I could double on Banjitar and Rythm. Can anybody give me a tuning for the Banjitar that will make sound more like a Banjo? I current tune it in E (eBGDAE) but this sounds more guitar like then Banjo.

#2 laker0902

laker0902
  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,404 posts
  • Original Name: laker0902

Posted 29 April 2007 - 09:16 AM

I thought the point of a banjitar was that a guitar player could easily pick it up and play it because of the tuning. The tone and picking style should be what make it sound like a banjo, not the tuning.

#3 dadfad

dadfad

dadfad

• Ombudsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 27,862 posts
  • Original Name: dadfad

Posted 30 April 2007 - 03:15 AM

Dropped-D will help a bit (a regular banjo having a drone note, normally a G). You might want to substitute a thin E-string (.010 to .012) for the 6th (thickest) string (tuned to D) which would give you a drone of a higher octave (like a banjo). I don't know how much you do or don't know about banjos, but they are usually tuned to open-G with that hi-G drone. You could also go the extra step (using an open-tuning) by tuning to open-D (6th to 1st DADF#AD) with that higher octave 6th-string.
Un-plugged is not the same as never-was-plugged-in-to-begin-with.

Posted Image
John Jackson -My Teacher and My Old Friend

When the roll is called up yonder he'll be there...

#4 halfmoonbay

halfmoonbay

HMB

• Ombudsman
  • 32,492 posts
  • Original Name: halfmoonbay

Posted 30 April 2007 - 10:06 AM