- - - - -

can i hook up a marshall mg100hdfx headstock to a fender frontman 212r

5 replies to this topic

#1 jeff12623

jeff12623
  • 1 posts
  • Original Name: jeff12623

Posted 26 February 2010 - 01:41 PM

I recently purchased a marshall mg100hdfx headstock, and I currently don't have enough money to get a cab. I have no experience with half stacks so I was wondering if it would be possible to hook up my marshall head to my fender fronman 212 r and use that as a cab for the time being until i get enough money to buy a cab to go with the headstock, and if it is possible how would I go about doing it.

Edited by jeff12623, 26 February 2010 - 02:30 PM.

#2 surfwhammy

surfwhammy
  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,312 posts
  • Original Name: surfwhammy

Posted 27 February 2010 - 09:13 AM

I recently purchased a marshall mg100hdfx headstock, and I currently don't have enough money to get a cab. I have no experience with half stacks so I was wondering if it would be possible to hook up my marshall head to my fender fronman 212 r and use that as a cab for the time being until i get enough money to buy a cab to go with the headstock, and if it is possible how would I go about doing it.

The "100" part of the name of your Marshall® amplifier refers to the amplifier (or "head") having a power output rating of 100 watts (100W) RMS (root mean square), and since the Fender® Frontman® 212R 100W 2x12 Guitar Combo Amp has two 12" loudspeaker that are rated at 100W RMS (as a pair, not separately), there is a way to use the Marshall amplifier to drive the Fender loudspeakers . . .

Doing what you want to do is a trivial modification, and it takes someone who knows how to do the work and has the required parts less time that it will take me to explain it in writing . . .

From the perspective of the Marshall MG100HDFX amplifier, there are three important criteria:

(1) It needs a minimum load of 4 Ohms, with higher values being OK (for example, 8-Ohms or 16-Ohms) . . .