- - - - -

Home recording on a budgetfrom external USB to my computer.

5 replies to this topic

#1 harrumphicus

harrumphicus

Shithead Extraordinair

• GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,107 posts
  • Original Name: harrumph

Posted 13 February 2011 - 04:31 AM

I've been writing music for almost 7 years now(just guitar and voice), and I think the most I've spent on recording gear is 15 dollars for a computer microphone. I definitely need to change that. So I've been looking at some different solutions, and have my eye on some new equipment. First thing that caught my eye was this: http://pro-audio.mus...ndle?sku=H14472

It's got (almost) everything I need to get going with some better quality recording, but I'm not sure about the microphone. It'll definitely be a step up, but if it's still not that great I don't want to have bought it just to give it away.

My second choice was the MXL 990/991 mic set with the Alesis iO2. I'm lead to believe that the latter includes a copy of Cubase, so I'll be set there - I don't need any fancy software, I usually keep my sound pretty raw anyway.

My third option, would be to just go for a USB version of the MXL 990 and spend the rest on recording software, but I'm not sure how much of a difference it would make since I plan on recording acoustic guitar and voice.

Just typing this up has pushed me toward the MXL/Alesis choice, but PLEASE let me know your opinion. If I don't hear anything over the next couple days (and I might not, this looks like a pretty slow forum), I'll probably just eeny-meeny it.

An asshole and a scholar, from my gentleman to my collar.

#2 harrumphicus

harrumphicus

Shithead Extraordinair

• GZ Regular
  • 19,107 posts

Posted 13 February 2011 - 10:41 PM

Another quick question - If I get the Alesis or the Presonus, will I be able to run the channels through my mixer before sending it to the computer?

#3 w00dy

w00dy
  • GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,375 posts