- - - - -

How long should it take to learn 3 chords?

2 replies to this topic

#1 GracehasQuitGoodbye!

GracehasQuitGoodbye!
  • PipPip
  • 262 posts
  • Donator:No
  • Original Name: Gone Gone

Posted 26 May 2015 - 12:37 PM

I bet answer is how long is a piece of string? :P

I don't know many chords it's true but, I am learning lol! or demolishing the guitar as my brother kindly says..nice huh!

I know 6 chords --go ahead lol at me I do! it's taken me 1 and a half months to do this while also having a injury occur. and can play 4 songs off top of head and a couple other by the book.

yet my chord changes are sloppy on my second set of chords being minor chords.

A E D major is ok and can play walk of life.

A E D minor I struggle with stretch from Dm to Am

yet when I play Em with a Major chord such as D I can do that.

I can only do down strums so far. I feel like a complete noob as, it's been years since I played and yep I have forgotten nearly if not everything as, I put the guitar down to frustration time and time and and had a severe injury car accident which caused spine and neck injury injury and nerve issues yep but me being a fighter..I put it down and said,,,int ime try again...

so umm here I am trying again lol!

it's going so so but have to say trying to play Etta James ---and sing to it same time is very difficult!

I am likeing the fact it's keeping me busy and keeping my mind working overtime.

I have a very bad habit on D major Dmin I seem to have a wonderful skill of muting 2b 1e :-)

I am unsure as, to how and why it is happening on those thin strings. I am moving my fingers around.

I have my thumb in the middle of the neck of the guitar as, was told it would help strengthen my hands for Barre chords :guitar: I do get the urge to shift thumb higher up lol or over the top of the guitar neck..which apparently is a no no! :sadbuttrue:

sorry if I talk too much..I'd like to know now if I should put the guitar down or keep trying with it?