BeginnerAdvice Needed.

24 replies to this topic

#1 marksadler

marksadler
  • 6 posts
  • Original Name: marksadler

Posted 25 June 2006 - 12:28 PM

Hello everyone,

I have always wanted to learn to play the Guitar and have decided to start. I have no experience with guitars at all and would like your advice. Which electric guitar would you recommend for a beginner? Im looking to spend in the region of 150 - 200, I know its not much and wont get me a brilliant guitar but Im only after something thats easy to learn with and sounds good(ish). Ive been looking at Ibanez's, are any of them suitable for beginners? Also any advice on a decent amp would be helpful, one just for my bedroom to practice on.

Thanks.

Edited by marksadler, 25 June 2006 - 12:31 PM.

#2 Captain_Trips

Captain_Trips

it was fun, while it lasted

• Validating
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24,000 posts
  • Original Name: Captain_Trips

Posted 25 June 2006 - 12:33 PM

I know you asked about an electric but I feel obligated just to tell you how much better off you would be to start on an acoustic. It builds the muscles in the fingers better and will make it way easier to switch to an electric later. It will make you a better player faster, for sure.

That said as far as electrics go I would recommend trying some guitars out, be sure to play your guitar before you buy it. Some good brands to look for are the Squires. The low end Fenders. Thats where I would start. You can probably get a good practice amp for about sixty to eighty bucks, I would recommend a Marshall MG like maybe the MG10CD -- a nice little practice amp with some decent kick to it.

May luck be with you . . .
Everybody's bragging and drinking that wine
I can tell the Queen of Diamonds by the way she shine
Come to Daddy on an inside straight
I got no chance of losing this time
No, I got no chance of losing this time

#3 marksadler

marksadler
  • 6 posts

Posted 25 June 2006 - 01:00 PM