- - - - -

Applying a waterslide decal?to finish up my custom job.

8 replies to this topic

#1 harrumphicus

harrumphicus

Shithead Extraordinair

• GZ Regular
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,107 posts
  • Original Name: harrumph

Posted 19 April 2012 - 12:03 AM

I've got a custom waterslide decal and some micro-sol solution on order for my strat project guitar, but I have no idea how to go about applying this. Anyone have any experience/insight on how to apply the decal or how the micro-sol works?

An asshole and a scholar, from my gentleman to my collar.

#2 CrazyCal

CrazyCal
  • Pip
  • 152 posts
  • Original Name: CrazyCal

Posted 19 April 2012 - 04:18 AM

I've done this lots, but my method is self taught, and therefore may not be technically correct. The first attempt came out wrong, the slide stayed white and looked awful.
Then i bought a neck from an e Bayer who had done a lovely job. I mailed him and he was a very nice and helpful fella.
I wasn't sealing the wood, before applying the transfer. The instructions said i didn't need to, but my new friend new better.
The method i now use is; Seal the wood with a varnish or similar, soak water slide for about a minute. Remove from backing and apply to head stock, allow to dry and spray over with a cellulose lacquer.

#3 harrumphicus

harrumphicus

Shithead Extraordinair

• GZ Regular
  • 19,107 posts

Posted 19 April 2012 - 05:29 AM

I heard that in the 60's and 70's Fender didn't lacquer over their headstock decals - seeing as how I don't have any lacquer (or more importantly, a safe place to apply the lacquer since I'm currently living on a warship) do you think it would be safe for a couple months? Or could I maybe wax and polish over it after it dries? I really can't have any aerosols or finishing materials onboard.

#4 CrazyCal

CrazyCal
  • Pip
  • 152 posts

Posted 19 April 2012 - 06:57 AM